Skip navigation

Friends and Fans,

After seven years of making music with Perpetual Groove it is time for me to leave the road. I’m writing this message to you—a personal note, not a press release. Without you all, we would never have lived this dream. For your support and your genuine love of our music, you have my eternal thanks.

This change in life will make it easier for me to be a good husband, son and father—for which I am grateful and excited. Because of this band I have friendships that will last a lifetime. Please stay in touch. And please know that I wish the rest of the band the best of luck at continuing this dream that Brock and Adam started over ten years ago now.

I want you to know that Amberland will be my final performance with Perpetual Groove. And have no doubt, it will be a good one. It is the perfect weekend to play my heart out, and say “see you later” to all of our friends and fans. I hope to see all of you there and on that long road to the middle…

Let me close by saying

In between
All the saddest things I’ve seen
Don’t come close to what has been
All the great things yet to be
Things that keep me in between…

Sincerely,

Matthew McDonald

///update:  Thank you all for your kind words.  It means a lot to me.  I’ll be staying active on this blog with new material, points for discussion and much more–so please keep coming back to visit.

65 Comments

  1. Matt, much love my friend. I wish you and Kelly nothing but the best. Thanks so much for the memories that will forever last. :)

  2. Love you, mean it.

  3. My brother, my friend. Here’s hoping all is well in your world. I love you.
    Rhoni

  4. Matt- Amazing decision. Celebrations of a growing and fulfilled heart on all levels. ~Lisa

  5. i wish you nothing but happiness bro. i have fond memories of late nights and amazing performances by you. thank you for that.

    i am excited for amazing music and really sad at the same time amberland will be your final ‘official’ performance with the band.

    thanks for everything.

    i couldnt transfer my numbers when i got my new phone, but would love to have yours again to stay in touch. wsp1013@gmail.com

    all the best and much love to you and your family

    dave

  6. Oh man, this is sad. I love this band more than any other, it’s going to be sad not to see you on stage anymore. I’m going to try to make it to Amberland this year. And good luck with your life! =(

  7. You were always my favorite. You made me spin in circles and took me to levels of complete and utter euphoria, a place that very few could get me to. I am forever grateful for finding Perpetual Groove and know the future is bright for both you and the band. Thank you for a real good time.
    Hugs,
    Krista Moore

  8. We will miss your music immensely brotha. In the last four years I have had the fantastic opportunity to see you play upwards of fifty times and while it saddens me to hear that we will not being seeing you on the road I know that you are doing the right thing. I look forward to seeing you at Amberland.

    Much Love,

    James “Gonzo” Young

  9. Matt – all my best to you, Kelly, and family. What a spectacular run. Congratulations! Seems like yesterday we all met on SSI. You have been an amazing inspiration (and continue to be) as well as good a friend as any man could ask. Continue to keep it light. I hope to see you soon.

    Cheers,
    Eley

  10. Matt, it has been because of P Groove that i have meet the most amazing people and seen some of the most amazing shows. I have followed yall from New York to Florida, and had the best of times doing so. You have made a very big impact on my life and some many others. Love you Bro, Love you Bro!! John Ashley

  11. Matt,

    Thanks for the music and the friendship. With every end comes a new beginning and I wish you well in all that life has for you.

  12. Hey, It’s Stella Dunham, Jeff Dunhams daughter, remember? Wow, I love ya like family man. Hope ya have a good time, I’ll miss you guys’ music, It won’t be the same.

    Wishing you the best,
    The Dunhams

  13. Good luck and god bless Matt. You are without a doubt one of the nicest rock stars I have ever had the pleasure of listening to.

  14. Much love and support, Matt! I will mos def be seeing you around! xox, Zoe

  15. Will there be memorial bobbleheads for sale at Amberland? I’ll buy a dozen!!

  16. Matt,

    Lots of love your way man!! I’ve loved listening to your music via myspacem, wish I could of seen you live but thats how the army works, I’ve been in Korea and Alaska the past five years!

    Seems just like yesterday we were cruzin around on an “army” bus and now your taking a break to be a family man! I’m proud of you man!! I’ll be back in GA this July! if your in the area look me up, you know where I’ll be… Right next to popeys!

    Gordy

  17. Good luck in your future endevours, you will be missed. Thank you for 7 great years and lots of good memories and good friends that I met along the way.

  18. I am so excited about Amberland, good way to finish it off ;) Will miss you so much.
    lov,
    Tex

  19. All the best to you, Kelly and your family. Always appreciated your warm greetings, vibe and music.

    Keep the link…

    Respect

    Michael A

  20. Matty,
    I had no idea this was coming! I know I will see you again soon enough and I look forward to that day. You’ve made many people happy and have had an amazing ride along the way. I respect such a hard decision and I hope your future is a glorious one.

    Wishing you and your family the best, Ryan.

  21. I just heard about this, and I’d just like to say from all of us at Lotus we’ve really enjoyed chatting with Matt at various shows, festivals, JamCruise, and Jam in the Dam. You are a great guy and musician and we’ll miss seeing you around the country and world. Best of luck with all future endeavors.

    Luke & Lotus

  22. Hey Matt! Thanks for all the great memories (the ones I remember at least)… It takes a hell of a man to do what you’re doing.. Wishing you and your family all the best!

    Peace

  23. Matt-
    I’m so sad to hear this but only you can know in your heart what road you need to take. I am certain that you will be successful in whatever you decide to do with your life….you have too good and too strong of a spirit not to succeed. Our best to both you and Kelly and I hope that we get to see you around these Rocky Mountains again from time to time.

    Best to you, your family and the PGroove team,
    Marc

  24. hardly knew you and Kelly yet was treated like a friend every time we wrote or talked. Thanks for the good times and enjoy the journey thru this thing called life.Jeff

  25. Matt,
    Thanks again.
    Greg

  26. boy am I gonna miss ya!. Best of luck hombre and a million thanks for all the great times and memories.

  27. Matt, I really don’t even know what to say. Obviously, from day one, I was hooked. Seeing the band grow from infancy to where it is now has been a great experience. It is going to be very hard to imagine PG without you as an integral part of it. Obviously, this has to be a major decision for you, and everyone is assuming that you know what is best, and what you need to do for you and your family. Life on the road in a band is not easy at all. I am thankful to have seen all that I have seen. This will make getting to Amberland an extreme priority. Looking forward to seeing you there. Our best wishes. Steve and Ginny

  28. Matty,
    Thank you for the endless memories and fun times together… you are an amazing person and I have an insane amount of love for you… Won’t be the same without you – but I know I’ll be seeing you, so keep on keepin on. Worddd son…

    In the meantime, I’ll go back to work on getting this printed up… :) http://www.geocities.com/connersrj/dougal.jpg

  29. best of luck to your life man, you have been a great part of a great band. thanks for all the fun times….

    -p

  30. Thank you Matt. You will be missed. But I know first hane how hard it can be to be a father & husband. Best of luck in life’s journey.

  31. Matt, in 2005 when Rob and I were planning our honeymoon, I went in search of something very special for us to do. We didn’t know quite what we were getting into when we bought tickets to see you guys at the Hightone. By the third song I was hooked for life and I couldn’t believe how lucky I was to have stumbled upon Perpetual Groove (on ticketmaster of all places).

    In the first couple of shows I stood dumbfounded watching you play those keyboards. You were like a mad scientist. And it was freaking beautiful!!!! I will miss you dearly. It won’t be the same without you. But as hard as it is to hear, I respect your decision. I understand. The reason we haven’t made nearly as many shows this year due to family obligations. I am glad that your family is important to you. You are a good man.

    We’ve been considering whether or not we could really afford to make the trip to Amberland this year, even though we’ve had tickets for months. Now I know that I’ll have to figure SOMETHING out. We can’t miss this.

    Love you brother,
    Joanie

  32. Hey Matt, This makes me sad, though I can totally see your obligations of family being the top priority. Since meeting you and the band when I worked for The Dunhams and z93, I had fallen in love with pgroove and the music you make. It was always a pleasure seeing you especially at the few west coast shows since moving from Atlanta. Best of luck to you, I hope your journey finds you and your family well.

    much love,

    Alyssa

  33. I would also like a memorial bobble head. Maybe two.
    When’s the reunion tour?

  34. Matt,

    I wish you the best of luck and am happy that you get to spend time with your family, ’cause that’s what it’s really all about anyways.

    You have a style on your rig that is all your own, so I hope to hear your music in one form or another sometime.

    Cheers!! Best of luck!

    Hatch

  35. Wow what a shock!! This is a sad day for me and I’m sure for alot of people. I will miss seeing the forever smiling bobblehead behind the keys. You have touched alot of people over the years and I’m sure that you will continue to do so. Much respect for this difficult decision you have made. Can’t wait to see you at Amberland!! Love ya Bro!!

    • David Grace (blazindave)
    • Posted May 3, 2008 at 1:35 pm
    • Permalink
    • Reply

    Matt:

    I want you to know how much I personally appreciate all the beautiful music you have helped create. It has been a soundtrack of my life for the past (nearly) 5 years and I couldn’t wish it any better. Through this band called Perpetual Groove I have gained so many friends, had so many good times, and seen a whole lot of things that I otherwise probably wouldn’t have (not to mention the kickass music I’ve heard!). I am forever indebted for this.

    I must say, I’m very sad to see you go, but I want you to know that you’ve got my full support. I imagine that you’ve probably been thinking of this for some time now, as I’m sure it has been extremely difficult to come to this decision. But rest assured, family is the most important thing, and if something is getting in the way of spending time with family, then action must be taken. So I think I understand where you’re coming from, and I totally respect your decision. I only hope that by focusing more time to your family, that you don’t become a stranger to this family that has built up around this band we all love so much.

    all this is just meant to say
    here you have a friendly ear, if you need one.

    (I think I speak for all the true fans here:) we love ya, we’ll miss ya as a part of Perpetual Groove, and we hope that we get to continue to enjoy your wonderful spirit and your presence (it’ll just be in a slightly different light than maybe all of us are used to).

    Lemme buy ya a drink sometime soon.

    With all sincerity and much love,
    David Grace
    blazindave

  36. Matt,

    To say it won’t be the same without you is an understatement, but you couldn’t be leaving for a better reason. Being on the road so much when you have a family has got to be tough. We’ll miss you!

    Kim Smith

  37. Wow Matt, good for you brother.
    And Congratulations to Kelly too, may love and light guide you both on your new journey, you will be missed but in a good way!
    You’ll always be my favorite :)
    Your biggest west coast fan,
    Laurel

  38. The band will never be the same without you, but you will always be in our hearts and memories for making Variety Playhouse and Georgia Amphitheater light up every time you played. Have an amazing life and enjoy spending more time with your wonderful family!

  39. Hey Matt and kelly,

    Not sure what to say other than i am proud of everything you have done guys! Will miss seeing you everywhere, and hope that you are in asheville every now and then!

    Matt, you are a great musician, and i know that you will continue to play and create! Best of luck with everything!

    Brian A. (harmonized)

  40. Hey Matt,

    I’ll miss you up there on the stage and hanging out at shows.

    I think it is time for you to run for political office.

    Chris

  41. Sad story. Much love friend. Send Kelly my love. Need anything do call!
    Marty

  42. When I first heard the news earlier, my instinct was to go with the flow and let life take its course…but it’s starting to hit me differently now and makes me so sad. Thanks for bringing so much light into my life, for writing the soundtrack to my otherwise dreary existence. Something weird and mystical brought me to see you guys play way back when…and I’m so thankful for it. I’m really going to miss your beautiful piano and those outer-space sounds that come from places that I swear are not monitors. I keep trying to locate the source, to no avail…

  43. Youve made a good decision but you will be missed, your present on stage brought me joy but i hope you have a great life and i hope to see you soon

  44. my heart just broke into when i heard the news..
    so much luck to you my friend
    pgroove will never be the same
    the vibe you brought to the band is something i hold close to my heart. <3

  45. going to miss seeing you up there on the right, bro. listening to some of the old shows as i type, you guys created some beautiful music that has been near and dear to me since it all started. be well, playa’!

    rollins

  46. ch ch ch ch changes… best of everything to you matt. thank you for the wonderful music you have made. many blessings to you.

    katmama

  47. Thanks Matt, for everything!

    You’re a top notch guy in my book and I’ll miss you.

    Time to start ruling the castle at the homestead and spending some time with your wife! Oh yeah, and online poker.

    Seriously though, I wish you the best and will look back at the last 4 years of my life as some of the best times in my life. Be glad that you were apart of that.

    Thanks again,

    Coy

  48. Best of luck man! thanx for all the great times, memories and music! you will be missed!

    Take care,

    Seth

  49. wow Matt, you will truely be missed, you guys have brightened my day when there was only dark. your sonic keys were an integral part of this bands sound and without you, it will certainly loose a key element! we know you have made the right decision that will ultimateley make you and those that surround you much happier. you will be missed. See you at your last hoooraaaa !!!!

    Scott

  50. so does this mean we can run against each other for governor?

    I suppose I should make it a point to make amberland???

  51. Hey, so I wasn’t going to post here, but I think I might be the 53rd, so…..here’s to finding 53 more things to do….or something. You know I am at a loss, but you also know that you & Kelly cannot get rid of me, evah. In fact, I would like to be an honorary McDonald, so you can work on that now. :) Endless love is redundant, but it’s all I got.

    -me

  52. Love You, Brotha! You Will Be Missed.
    Thanks For the Music!

    Reid.

  53. Our hearts here with the Bump Crewe go out to you and your family Matt! I know that you’ll miss the road, but a new journey is begining and it sounds like you’re ready to make the most of it!

    You and the PG boys made supporting you guys such a wonderful time wheather it was in Athen, GA or Chitown, IL.; we’ll always remember them……especially the New Years run and the bump chant that echoed in our ears for days as we left the stage feeling like kings!!!!!!

    We’ll miss you on the road, but I’m sure that we’ll cross path’s somewhere on down the line. Hollah at us when you’re up in the D-Troit area as well……would love to put together a holiday session if you’re down

    Love Ya
    Clint and the Boys

  54. Matt,

    The past 6 years have been a whole lot of fun. From the glitz of NYC to the seas of the Carribean, the craziness of Wakarusa and the intense emotions that Ziggy’s always brought, we have had a blast. I’m grateful to have met you and your family. I see how much they mean to you and while I’m sad that I won’t be able to shake my bottom to some Bobblehead Funk, I know that you are finally able to hold you family close for more than a week at a time.

    I sincerely wish you the best in everything that you do. I thank you for all the good times and the wonderful memories. I look forward to your next contribution to the scene whatever it may be.

    Now where is this art that you talk about??

    See ya around,
    Chris

  55. Matt, you are truly a talented and wonderful person. I can’t express enough how the music you have created has affected my life in such a positve way. And man the experiences and friends I now have, wow!!! I hope to see you in the future and always be able to call you a friend. I respect you so much for the decision you have made and wish you, Kelly and your family the best. You will succeed in anything you do(but you know that!). Thanks for everything you have done! See ya at the greatest party ever playa we can “oh snap” together!

    Rich(ripstar)

  56. Hey Matt,

    I hope life continues to bring you and kelly nothing but love and happiness. You guys are always fun and interesting to hang with. i know this must have been a tough decision, but it must be right.

    good luck, keep in touch,
    melissa

  57. Matt,
    What up its Jesse (guitarist from CLIFF STREET from albany NY Rev hall etc…) Good luck with your next plans. P-groove has been such a sick act to perform with over the years. Having you and Broc play multiple times with us is a highlight of my career playing music. I will miss not seeing you at the shows. much love and thanks for the rockin times.

  58. Matt-
    Thank you for all the wonderful times! As selfish as I’d like to be, I can’t… you need to live life for you. I’ll truly will miss you up there on stage… but I’ll cherish all the wonderful times that I had seeing you perform. You will always be a part of my heart. Thank you a thousand times over and I wish you all the best of luck in the world!!! I hope that you still have that artwork that I gave you all in Athens a few years back! Never stop playing music… for it has been the “groove” that binds us.

    Much Love
    Kat VA

  59. From Boston, to New York City, to Buffalo, to the All Good Festival, and recently in Los Angeles, you’ve guided my path the last years and didn’t even know it. Thanks for all the beautiful notes i’ll never forget.

  60. Hey man, thank you so much for all the amazing music. Some of the best stuff ever played in the history of music.

    You were a HUGE part of the PGroove experience that I loved it so much.

  61. Congratulations on the life change, my friend. You’ve brought joy to thousands upon thousands of people, and for that, you should be proud.

    Best of luck in all you do, and lets definitely stay in touch.

    Cheers,
    Hogan

  62. Matt,

    I have just returned from Iraq, again, and while catching up on life, heard the news.
    May the new phase of of life, both personnel and musical, be just as much of a learning experience as the last phase.
    Please pass on my regards to Kelly.

    Frank (1SG) Chapman

  63. Hey, man, I talked with Jeremy Burgin and he told me. Hmmmm……. You had some good opportunities and travels, so the memories are worth it in the end. I still would love to jam with you one day if ever. I’ll be moving to the Baltimore/Washington DC area, got a good gig there. Keep in touch, homeboy!

  64. I’m glad I got to see you play with the band a few times. Your show in April at the Fox Theater in Boulder was great. Godspeed, friend. From one husband, father, son, to another, what you are doing is quite admirable.


One Trackback/Pingback

  1. [...] years in PGroove McDonald is ready to move on. You can read Matt’s letter to his fans over at his blog. PGroove will continue as a trio with the possible addition of guest performers at various [...]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

